top of page

Stephen B. Thacker Excellence in Mentoring Award


2018 Call for Nominations Deadline - March 1

The Stephen B. Thacker Excellence in Mentoring Award recognizes an individual who is an inspiration to the EIS community and exhibits unwavering commitment to the EIS Program, officers, and alumni through demonstrated excellence in applied epidemiology training, mentoring, and building public health capacity. Established in 2013 by the EIS Alumni Association, and supported by the Thacker family in partnership with the CDC Foundation, the award honors Dr. Thacker, an inspirational leader who championed the EIS program and its officers throughout his career. Often working behind the scenes, Dr. Thacker's wisdom and vision in supporting, strengthening, and maintaining a strong and diverse EIS program inspired his colleagues, his staff, and generations of EIS officers. Each year's award acknowledges someone who, over the years, has provided exceptional mentoring to EIS officers through outstanding supervision, teaching applied epidemiology skills and/or public health practice, or otherwise enriching EIS officers' experiences through mentoring.


Eligible nominees include any current or former EIS supervisor or mentor of EIS Officers in state, territorial or other field positions; CDC divisions or offices; or the EIS Program. Nominees are not required to be EIS alumni.


The EIS Alumni Association requests nominations for the Stephen B. Thacker Excellence in Mentoring Award from individuals working in public health policy or practice within or outside CDC. Nominators are not required to be EIS alumni. Written nominations should be submitted by email to the EIS Alumni Association at When submitting the nomination, please specify Stephen B. Thacker Excellence in Mentoring Award in the subject line. Written nominations should include the name of the nominee, the name(s) of the person(s) nominating, and a narrative describing why the nominee is deserving of this primarily mentoring award, along with a narrative of noteworthy contributions that the nominee has made in mentoring past and/or current EIS officers. Nominations may include personal characteristics and attributes in mentoring and may incorporate testimonials of EIS officers supervised by the nominee. Nominations, including testimonials, should be limited to 1,500 words. Nominations submitted during the past two years' award cycles will automatically be considered for the current year. The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2018.

The EISAA's Stephen B. Thacker Excellence in Mentoring Award Committee will review the nominations. The award recipient will be announced during the 67th Annual EIS Conference, April 16-19, 2018.

Past Stephen B. Thacker Excellence in Mentoring Award Winners:
2018: To Be Announced at the 67th EIS Conference, April 16-19, 2018

2017:  Jennifer McQuiston, DVM, MS (CAPT, USPHS) EIS '00

2016:  Polly Marchbanks, PhD EIS '87

2015: CAPT Douglas H. Hamilton, MD, PhD, EIS '94

2014: J. Lyle Conrad, EIS ’65

2013: Stephen B. Thacker, MD, MSc EIS ’65

bottom of page